The card to be forced is at the bottom of the deck. Hold the deck face down in the Hindu shuffle position in the left hand, i.e., hold the deck with the third phalanx of the fingers with the thumb on one long edge and the other four fingers on the... Read more of The Hindu Shuffle & Force at Card Trick.caInformational Site Network Informational
Home   -   All Card Game Rules   -   Solitaire   -   Auction   -   Euchre

Case 6

The bidding in an Auction deal was as follows:--

1st 2d 3d
Round Round Round

North 3 Royals Redouble Double
East No No No
South 4 Hearts No Double
West Double 6 Clubs Claims new deal

The deal was played and resulted in the Declarer taking six tricks, a
loss of 600. The question is whether West's claim should be sustained
or this score counted, it being a part of the case stated that the
declaration which was the subject of complaint was made inadvertently.


Law 54 provides that "A player cannot redouble his partner's double,"
but does not penalize such action. The prohibition is intended to
prevent an increase in the value of the tricks and a penalty is not
attached, as the additional double is generally a careless act, not
likely to materially benefit the offending player.

It goes without saying that any such double is most irregular, and any
suggestion of strength thereby conveyed will not be used by an
honorable partner. The same comment applies to the remark, sometimes
made, "Partner, I would have doubled if you had not."

A player repeatedly guilty of such conduct, or of intentionally
violating any other law, should be reprimanded, and, if the offense be
continued, ostracized.

In the case under consideration, this question does not arise, as it is
conceded that the act was simply an inadvertence. Even, however, had
its bona fides been questioned, the decision would of necessity be
that the score be counted, as the laws do not provide a penalty for the

Next: Case 7

Previous: Case 5

Add to Informational Site Network

Viewed 2614