The Finesse





The cards of the Dummy being exposed make it easy for the player

sitting back of him to determine when to finesse. As the object of a

finesse is to catch a high card on the right, it is folly to finesse

against nothing--for example, the leader opens with Knave against a

No-trump; the Third Hand has King and others; when the Dummy has the

Queen, it is obvious the King should not be played unless the Queen

cover the Knave, but when the Dummy holds only worthless cards, the

Third Hand should play the King, as, should he finesse against nothing,

he would allow the Queen to win. The leader has opened either from Ace,

Knave, Ten, or a suit headed by a Knave-Ten combination. In the former

case the play of the King insures every trick; in the latter, it helps

clear the suit. It, therefore, is an example of the rule not to finesse

when the Dummy has nothing.



An apparent exception to this rule occurs when the lead is made in

answer to a declaration, or as an evident effort to find the partner's

strength. For example, the original Third Hand, with six Hearts headed

by King, Ten, and two reentries, has called Hearts. The Declarer is

playing a No-trumper, and the opening is the Knave of Hearts. The Dummy

is without strength. In that case, the Declarer is marked with both the

Ace and Queen of Hearts. The Third Hand should, therefore, play small.

The play of the King cannot be of any benefit, and should the Declarer

have the Nine, will be most expensive. This really is not a finesse

against nothing, but, the position of the winning cards being marked,

is merely a conservation of strength.



The same general principle applies in many similar cases; when,

however, a small card is led, the Third Hand should not finesse, unless

the Dummy contain some high card.



Playing No-trump, the following finesses are advisable over the Dummy:--





WHEN DUMMY HAS FINESSE

King Ace, Queen

Ace, Knave

Ace, Ten



King, Knave Ace, Ten

Ace, Nine



King, Ten Ace, Nine



Queen Ace, Knave

Ace, Ten

King, Knave

King, Ten



Knave Ace, Ten

King, Ten

Queen, Ten



Do not, however, except with a fourchette, finesse against Queen or

Knave singly guarded, when it is evident that the Declarer and Dummy

hold only four cards of the suit, and the Ace or King is marked with

the leader.



When playing No-trump, as a rule do not finesse if so doing will block

the partner's suit.





The Draw The Fish-bone facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Feedback