Case 12





The adversaries of the Declarer take ten tricks, but revoke. Under

these conditions, can either side score "except for honors or chicane?"





DECISION



Law 84 provides that "a revoking side cannot score, except for honors

or chicane."



It also provides: "If either of the adversaries revoke, the declarer

may either add 150 points to his score in the honor column or may take

three tricks from his opponents and add them to his own. Such tricks

may assist the declarer to make good his declaration."



It is evident that the Declarer is given the option of either scoring

150 points or taking three tricks, should he prefer to make good his

declaration rather than receive the bonus.



In the case cited, three tricks could not fulfill the contract, but

should a thoughtless or generous Declarer elect to take a penalty which

would not benefit him, in preference to 150, he would be acting within

his rights.



The rule clearly decides this case. The adversaries "cannot score

except for honors or chicane," and the Declarer can "add 150 to his

score in the honor column" if he elect so to do.



Acknowledgment is made of the courtesy of The Whist Club of New York in

permitting the publication of its code of laws and of the decisions of

its Card Committee.





Case 11 Case 2 facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Feedback